Return to News Releases | Return to Newsletter

Missouri Governor to Address Annual Look North Meeting

September 2018

Missouri Governor Mike Parson will be the keynote speaker at the EDC's Look North Annual Meeting Oct. 24.

Missouri Governor Mike Parson will be the keynote speaker for the 51st Look North Annual Meeting at Harrah’s North Kansas City Hotel and Casino, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., Wednesday, Oct. 24.

Parson was sworn in as Missouri’s 57th Governor on June 1, following over 30 years of experience in public service. Before serving as the 47th Lieutenant Governor of Missouri, he previously represented the 28th Senatorial District in the Missouri Senate and in the Missouri House of Representatives from 2005-2011. Governor Parson also served as the Sheriff of Polk County from 1993-2005 and served six years in the U.S. Army before that.

While in the Missouri Senate, Governor Parson chaired the Small Business, Insurance and Industry Committee, and during his first two years, he served as majority whip. While serving in the House of Representatives, he was chair of the House Rules Committee, sponsoring and co-sponsoring several landmark pieces of legislation. During Governor Parson’s first year as Lieutenant Governor, his office launched the “Buy Missouri” initiative.

Sponsored by the Clay County Economic Development Council, the event also features recipient recognition of the EDC’s prestigious Look North Leadership Award. The annual honor recognizes invaluable contributions to economic development and quality of life in Clay County.

Previous recipients of the Look North Award are Nettie Agnew (2006), Sandra Aust (2007), Virgil Bower (1992), Stephen Brainard (1996), Raymond Brock (1987), James Burke (1979), Cerner (2013), H.D. Cleberg (1998), Jim Corwin (2011), Dr. Tom Cummings (2006), Kirk Davis (2016), Lee Derrough (2005), Jay Dillingham (1985), John Dillingham (1981), Nancy Dillingham (1999), Dobbe Dobberstine (2014), Clark Ferguson (1989), Milton Ferguson (1994), Jewett Fulkerson (1987), Charles Garney (1980), Patty Garney (1996), Anita Gorman (1979), James “Pete” Hall (2002), J. Harold Hamil (1986), Richard Harriman (1984), Mark Henry (2015), Deb Hermann (2016), Gerald James (1991), Dan Kahler (2008), Gordon Kingsley (1990), Morty Lebedun (2004), Robert Lemons (1983), Karl Morris (2004), Charles Myers (2000), Mack Porter (1995), John Pritchard (1993), Mary Pritchard (1993), Ed Quick (2005), Cecilia Robinson (2003), Tony Reinhart (2017), Landon Rowland (2001), Edna Shepherd (2000), Reuben Siverling (2009), Sarah Snow (1988), Phil Snowden (1984), Mark Tankesley (2012), Harold Townsend, Jr. (1997), Joe Wally (1988), Linda Ward (2007), Terry Ward (2010), Homer Williams (1999), Van Williams (1982), Henry Wurst (1985), and Albert W. Zimmer III (2014).

For additional information and registration, call (816) 468-4989


Return to News Releases | Return to Newsletter